Electromobility is an essential component in decarbonising road transportation and mobility. Still, the biggest obstacles in the wide acceptance of Electric Vehicles (EVs) relate to the limited driving range of electric vehicles and to the scarcity of interoperable charging infrastructure and electrοmobility services. A novel approach is needed to fully take advantage of the design freedoms and the opportunities for defining and developing electric and electronic architecture and components. This should result in increased efficiency and range and make a major contribution towards the transition to fully electric vehicles (FEV's).

EV-Sys 2018 was a full-day workshop that took place in conjuction with the ninth ACM International Conference on Future Energy Systems (ACM e-Energy), in Karlsruhe, Germany, on 12 June 2018. 

With the participation of approximately 40 experts, the Workshop speakers and organisers had the opportunity to examine the latest development of areas that are expected to play a major role towards enhancing EV performance.

The main focus of the workshop was on the following thematic areas:

  • methodological concepts through the improvement of the battery management system (BMS),
  • extensive use of information and communication technologies (ICT) to increase energy efficiency and thus the range of the vehicle,
  • the revision of the electric and electronic architecture to reduce complexity and the number of components and interconnections, whilst improving energy efficiency, functionality and modularity and
  • the development of tools and networks to enable the interoperable charging and services provision to owners of EVs.

By sharing and exchanging the practical knowledge of electric vehicles,the organisers aimed to bolster further synergy and collaborations for a wide range of electric vehicle research in practice.

List of topics

Papers were invited in all emerging aspects of electric vehicle systems, and relevant data analysis, applications and services, such as:

  • Novel Battery Management System (BMS) designs with improved thermal management, power density and life time, safety and reliability. 
  • Models, simulation and performance evaluation tools for BMS improvement.
  • Test methodologies and procedures to evaluate the functional safety, reliability and lifetime of battery systems.
  • Integration of the overall cycle of EV energy management into a comprehensive EV battery and ICT-based re-charging system management.
  • Digital support for EVs (i.e. common information model, market place interaction and service provision based on wireless / power line communication interfaces, roaming management, energy consumption and supply as well as cost). 
  • Interoperability of EVs with the communication infrastructure and electricity grid regarding locally deployed smart-grid and smart-metering systems while investigating arising operational issues.  
  • Key performance indicators (KPI) for grid-friendly charging process with a special focus on power quality modelling and algorithms.
  • New metrics, business models and methodologies for incentivizing EV users.
  • Novel algorithms and optimization strategies for EV charging process.

The five papers that were eventually expected and presented during the workshop can be found here: https://conferences.sigcomm.org/eenergy/2018/workshops.php

Past EV-Sys Editions

*The workshop is organised by NeMo and ELECTRIFIC H2020 European Projects in conjuction with the ACM e-Energy 2018 

 Important Dates

  • Submit papers for Review by13 April 2018
  • Acceptance notices sent: 01 May 2018 
  • Final papers due7 May 2018
  • Workshop realisation: 12 June 2018



 Presentations are now available! (https://evsys2018.iccs.gr/index.php/material)

 EV-Sys Workshop papers are now published!


 Workshop Chairs

  • Robert Basmadjian, Workshop Co-Chair, Chair of Computer Networks and Communication of University of Passau, Germany
  • Angelos Amditis, Workshop Co-Chair, Research Director, ICCS, Greece


 Program Committee Members

  • Christina Anagnostopoulou, (Institute of Communication and Computer Systems, Greece)
  • Andrew Winder (ERTICO ITS Europe, Belgium)
  • Küfen Jörg (FKA, Germany)
  • Selini Hadjidimitriou (ICOOR, Italy)
  • Johannes Faehndrich (TU Berlin, Germany)
  • Thomas Walz (IBM, Germany)
  • Sid C-K Chau (Masdar Institute)
  • Erik Wilhelm (Kyburz)
  • Albert Lam (University of Hong Kong)
  • Prashant Shenoy (UMass)
  • Maria Perez Ortega (GFI Belgium)
  • Florian Kutzner (University of Mannheim, Germany)
  • Michal Jakob (CVUT, Czech Republic)